Wesmen to host UBCO in Canada West home-openers

Daniel Thiessen and Emma Parker and the rest of the Wesmen will host their home-opener matches Nov. 2-3 against UBC-Okanagan. (Kelly Morton photos)
Daniel Thiessen and Emma Parker and the rest of the Wesmen will host their home-opener matches Nov. 2-3 against UBC-Okanagan. (Kelly Morton photos)

The Wesmen women's volleyball team will open its Canada West conference season on the road, while the men's team will have two bye weeks before a home date lifts the lid on its season.

The Canada West revealed its 2018-19 conference schedule Wednesday and it puts the University of Winnipeg teams on the bye in Week 1 before the women hit the road to Regina to open their season with back-to-backs against the Cougars Oct. 26-27.

With the U of R eliminating its men's program in the off-season, the Wesmen men will enjoy a second straight bye week to open the season.

Both teams, however, will celebrate their home-openers together when the UBC-Okanagan Heat travel to Winnipeg for Friday-Saturday matches at the Duckworth Centre Nov. 2-3.

Wesmen fans will get a look at two of the powerhouse programs in all of U SPORTS the following weekend when the Trinity Western Spartans come to town Nov. 9-10.

Also on the schedule are the traditional home-and-home matches with the Brandon Bobcats, who will visit Winnipeg Jan. 24 and host the Wesmen on Jan. 26.

The crosstown rivalry with the Manitoba Bisons will follow the next weekend with Winnipeg on the road Feb. 1, before hosting the Bisons on Feb. 2.

In terms of their longest travel, the Wesmen teams will fly to British Columbia twice (Nov. 16-17 at Thompson Rivers and Feb. 8-9 at UBC) and twice to Alberta (Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at MacEwan and Jan. 11-12 at Calgary).

The holiday break in Canada West kicks in after Dec. 1 matches and play will resume Jan. 4 when the Wesmen host the Saskatchewan Huskies.

The post-season is slated to start with quarter-final matches Feb. 21-24. The top eight teams in the conference will qualify for playoffs.

The U SPORTS national championships will March 14-17 with the women's tournament hosted by Alberta and the men at Laval.

All matches will be available to be streamed live on CanadaWest.tv.

COMPLETE WESMEN SCHEDULE (All times CT; women's times listed first)

Fri., Oct 26           at Regina, 8 p.m. (women)

Sat., Oct. 27        at Regina, 8 p.m. (women)

Fri., Nov. 2          vs UBCO, 6/7:45 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 3         vs UBCO, 6:45/5 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 9          vs Trinity Western, 6/7:45 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 10       vs Trinity Western, 6:45/5 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 16        at Thomson Rivers, 7/8:45 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 17       at Thompson Rivers, 7/8:45 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 23        vs Mount Royal, 6/7:45 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 24       vs Mount Royal, 6:45/5 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 30        at MacEwan, 7/8:30 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 1          at MacEwan, 6/7:30 p.m.

Fri., Jan. 4            vs Saskatchewan, 6/7:45 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 5           vs Saskatchewan, 6:45/5 p.m.

Fri., Jan. 11          at Calgary, 7/8:30 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 12        at Calgary, 5/6:30 p.m.

Thur., Jan. 24     vs Brandon, 6/7:45 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 26        at Brandon, 5/6:45 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 1           at Manitoba, 7:45/6 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 2          vs Manitoba, 5/6:45 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 8           at UBC, 9/3 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 9          at UBC, 7/8:30 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 15         vs Alberta, 6/7:45 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 16       vs Alberta, 6:45/5 p.m.

PLAYOFFS

February 21-24

Quarterfinals

(Best 2 of 3)

   
 

(A:5@4, B:6@3, C:7@2, D:8@1)

 
         

 

       

February 28-March 3

Semi-Finals Hosted at Highest Remaining Seed (Best 2 of 3)

 

Winner of Series A vs Winner of Series D

 
 

Winner of Series B vs Winner of Series C

 
         

March 8 or 9

CW Gold Medal - Single Elimination Game at highest remaining seed

 

CW Bronze Medal - Single Elimination Game at highest remaining seed

 

     (Bronze only played if needed to determine U SPORTS reps)

         

March 14-17

U SPORTS Championship - Women (Alberta) / Men (Laval)